Designated Holidays, PTO and Holiday Closure Policy

Effective December 1, 2016, St. Bonaventure University recognizes ten (10) official Designated Holidays each year. In addition to the Designated Holidays listed below, SBU provides a minimum of nine (9) additional days as Paid Time Off (PTO) days which regular full-time employees typically will be required to use in conjunction with holiday closures. However, even during closures, some essential services must be continued. Employee scheduling during closures and use of PTO time is therefore at the discretion of the Designated Executive. Employees scheduled to work during an official closure will bank the PTO days which must be used no later than the end of the fiscal year (May 31st) or will be forfeited. Any exceptions must be approved by Human Resources. PTO days are not considered holidays and are not subject to holiday pay rules. PTO balances do not have a monetary value and are not paid out upon separation from employment.

Regular full-time, overtime-eligible employees working on one or more of the ten Designated Holidays will receive two times the employee's regular straight-time hourly rate for hours worked on the Holiday plus eight hours of Holiday pay for that day. Regular full-time exempt employees working on a Designated Holiday will receive two PTO days credited to their account. Part-time employees working on a Designated Holiday will receive their regular pay and any Designated Holiday differential pay in effect for that day.

St. Bonaventure University will announce holiday closure dates and the exact number of PTO days authorized each year by the end of May.

St. Bonaventure University Designated Holidays

(Dates vary by year and are announced annually)

- Independence Day
- Fall Break Day
- Thanksgiving Day
- Christmas Eve
- Christmas Day
- New Year's Eve
- ❖ New Year's Day
- ❖ Martin Luther King Jr. Day (Starting Jan 2018)
- Good Friday
- Memorial Day

October 2016